How to Choose Your Class in World of Warcraft: A Brief Guide

How to Choose Your Class in World of Warcraft: A Brief Guide

If you are about to create a profile in World of Warcraft, here is a quick guide into the classes and tips to choose the right one.

Despite being released almost 20 years ago, World of Warcraft continues to captivate both new and experienced players. Every two years Blizzard releases new expansion packs with tons of exclusive content and new lore elements. The latest update of the Shadowlands pack, Eternity’s End, was launched literally a few days ago. New raids and missions await eager and bold players.

To enter the fascinating Warcraft universe and make sure you will enjoy your travel, you need to opt for a class. It will define the powers of your character, suitable armor and weaponry, and possible functions in the battle. The class can’t be changed throughout the game, so you should choose wisely. This article will provide you with the information needed.

Why choose only one?

The number of classes in WoW equals 12 and you can upgrade each of them for hours. However, spending time leveling them all will be a waste of resources. Your class is not about trying different options but about choosing an occupation for your whole life. You will still have an option to create a new character, but it can easily lead to exhaustion.

Upgrading one class and farming resources can also become tedious. To facilitate this process, you can take a look at services like that will help you acquire gold and other assets necessary for an efficient game.

What to pay attention to?

There are several things you need to consider before making a final decision.

  • Faction: You definitely know about Horde and Alliance. The Horde faction values comradery and combat, they are free and sometimes aggressive, thus playing for them will have a lot of morally questionable choices. The Alliance is a faction joined by nobility and justice. They seem to be more sublime and exalted, but also boring from time to time.
  • Races: Even though all races have their own abilities and perks, the choice here is mostly visual: You will have to see your character on screen most of the time, so choose something you like to look at. Please note that races are divided by fractions, so you cannot pick an Alliance race to play for the Horde and vice versa.
  • Roles: There are three class roles to pick from: healer, tank, and damage dealer. Their goals are simple: healers try their best to keep the team alive, tanks protect their team members, and damage dealers attack.

Take into account these factors to choose the most suitable class for yourself.

World of Warcraft

What are the classes in WoW?

Now, let’s take a glance at all 12 classes World of Warcraft has to offer.

Death knight

This class of melee fighters firstly appeared in Wrath of the Lich King. These powerful killing machines can function like damage dealers and tanks with their three specs.

Demon hunter

The heirs of Illidan Stormrage are wielding swords, axes, and warglaives to combat the Burning Legion. If you want to make as much destruction as possible, Havoc is your spec, and Vengeance is a combination of tanking and healing abilities.


The name speaks for itself: Mages are using all the potential of magical powers to punish their enemies. All three specs—Arcane, Fire, and Frost—are about elimination. However, this class is extremely weak in close-range battles.


Another magically empowered class with three DPS specs and ranged attacks. They can summon demons for attack and long-lasting pets to tank damage.


Paladins are the first class that can perform all three roles with their specs. Holy goes for healers, Retribution—for close-range damage, and Protection—for, well, protection.


This is a class of mythical shapeshifters who value nature and live in harmony with it. They have four specs that cover almost every aspect in the battle: Druids can be melee damagers, perform ranged attacks, heal, and defend.


This class of martial artists appeared in the Mists of Pandaria pack. They are one of the most flexible characters in the game being able to become every of three main roles in World of Warcraft.


Here are the sneaky guys! They are full-time damage dealers with knives and daggers on their side. They are kings and queens of stealth that can help the whole group move unnoticed.


Shamans are working with close-range elemental magic. Fire, water, air, and earth are under their control. 


If you love animals, this class is for you. Hunter’s pets are perfect tanks and Hunters themselves are dangerous DPS.


Healing is the main focus of Priests. Two out of three specs are made for it. They have powerful abilities and will be a great addition to the group.


This class is the heaviest out of all. They can do real damage to enemies and swallow some punches too.

Final thoughts

Eventually, the choice is yours and yours alone. Remember that you will stay with the opted class most of the time, so make sure you feel comfortable with your decision.

Leave a Reply